Home News Featured News AHPETC rubbish bin remains in Buangkok years after WP lost Punggol East...

AHPETC rubbish bin remains in Buangkok years after WP lost Punggol East SMC to the PAP

He Ting Ru indicated that she came across the bin while she was meeting residents and conducting her ‘mobile MPS’ in Buangkok




- Advertisement -

New Sengkang GRC Member of Parliament (MP) He Ting Ru shared a photo on social media that showed a rubbish bin in Buangkok bearing the name of the old Aljunied-Hougang-Punggol East Town Council (AHPETC), years after the Workers’ Party (WP) town council was renamed after it lost Punggol East SMC.

The WP, which has held Hougang SMC since 1991, created the Aljunied-Hougang Town Council (AHTC) after it won Aljunied GRC in the 2011 general election. A year after the election, in 2012, the Punggol East SMC seat in Parliament became vacant after People’s Action Party (PAP) MP and Speaker of Parliament Michael Palmer resigned due to an extramarital affair.

The WP had contested Punggol East SMC in the 2011 election, in which its candidate Lee Li Lian garnered an impressive 41.01 per cent of votes – a remarkable feat for a fresh face standing in a single member ward.

In the ensuing by-election, Ms Lee was picked as the WP’s choice to contest the ward and she faced a rare four-cornered contest, with new PAP candidate Koh Poh Koon – a colorectal surgeon who had just joined the PAP three months prior – and two other opposition parties joining the fray.

- Advertisement -

Ms Lee emerged the victor at the polls with 54.50 per cent of the vote in January 2013 and became the first female opposition politician to control a single member ward in Singapore’s history. The win also marked the second time since 1981 that the WP had captured another parliamentary seat after a by-election.

The WP included Punggol East in its town council and formed AHPETC.

Ms Lee was fielded to defend her seat in the 2015 General Election, which was held months after Singapore’s founding Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew passed. The PAP fielded six-term MP and Deputy Speaker of Parliament Charles Chong in Ms Lee’s ward and the WP was narrowly defeated with 48.24 per cent of the vote compared to the PAP’s 51.76 per cent.

After the PAP wrested Punggol East SMC back from the opposition, Punggol East SMC joined the PAP’s Pasir Ris-Punggol Town Council (PRPTC).

The hotly contested Punggol East SMC ceased to exist by the time the 2020 General Election was called. Instead, a new multi-member ward – that included what was formerly Punggol East SMC, Sengkang West SMC, and parts of Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC – was formed and named Sengkang GRC.

Sengkang GRC was contested by three fresh faces from the WP – Raeesah Khan, Jamus Lim, and Louis Chua – and one candidate who had run in one previous election, He Ting Ru. The WP team faced off with the ruling People’s Action Party (PAP) team that included three prominent political office-holders and one new candidate.

The WP team pulled off what seemed like an impossible feat when it emerged the victor at the polls, ousting Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office and labour chief Ng Chee Meng, Senior Minister of State Lam Pin Min and beloved grassroots MP Amrin Amin from Parliament.

In a Facebook post published on Monday (3 Aug), He Ting Ru shared that a rubbish bin in Buangkok still bears the AHPETC name. The new MP indicated that she came across the bin while she was meeting residents and conducting her ‘mobile MPS’ in Buangkok:

We’ve been meeting residents and conducting our ‘mobile MPS’ in Buangkok. Grateful to have Ron Tan Jun Yen 陈俊元 and a committed team to walk with us.#sengkanggrc

Posted by He Ting Ru 何廷儒 on Sunday, 2 August 2020

Send in your scoop to news@theindependent.sg 

- Advertisement -

Josephine Teo: From May 1, Dependant’s Pass holders will need work pass for employment

Singapore — Manpower Minister Josephine Teo announced on Wednesday (March 3) tighter new rules for foreigners on Dependant’s Passes (DP) who want to work in Singapore. From May 1 of this year, they will need to obtain their own work passes, such...

😊 – Rest of the word = Smiley and happy: 😊 – Singapore= Symbol of anarchy

  I just saw a news clip in the Today newspaper, which said that Mr Louise Ng, the Member of Parliament (MP) for Nee Soon Group Representation Constituency (GRC), was being investigated by the police for holding up a “smiley face”, encouraging...

Actor seen on Mediacorp’s Vasantham accused by budding artiste of wanting to sleep with him after “private show”

Update as of Mar 4:   In response to TISG’s queries, Selva said: “There have been troubling allegations surfacing recently. I simply wish to say, I did not send any inappropriate message via Facebook. I believe my account was hacked before this incident, which...

Send in your scoop to news@theindependent.sg