The 2019 Australian Federal Election will be held on May 18, 2019 (Saturday). As such, the Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) urged Australian citizens who will be overseas during that date to vote early.

“Whether you’re residing, working or holidaying overseas at the moment, make sure your vote counts in the 2019 election.”

Early voting begins on May 6, 2019 (Monday) and ends on May 17, 2019 (Friday).

Australians who are enrolled for the 2019 elections can vote in person at the official voting centre located at the Australian High Commission, Singapore building (25 Napier Road, Singapore 258507). They can cast their vote on weekdays from 8:30am until 4:30pm.

Those who opted for a postal vote and have registered by Apr 11, 2019 may also cast their vote through the preferred method.

“Centres are commencing voting services progressively from May 6, and they will be located at participating Australian diplomatic missions and other offices around the world,” the Electoral Commissioner Tom Rogers said.

See also  Australia won’t extradite S’pore-born murder suspect if death penalty awaits him

The Australian Electoral Commission also provided the following guidelines and reminders:

  • Voters who are about to travel overseas should consider a pre-poll vote at an early-voting centre in Australia.
  • Check all overseas voting centre dates and opening hours carefully. Many might not be open on election day, 18 May 2019, due to time-zone differences.
  • Electors overseas needing a postal vote have been able to apply via the AEC website since 11 April 2019. If no action has been taken to apply until now, delivery of ballot papers in time is not guaranteed. So to have any chance, please apply immediately. While the AEC uses priority mail to deliver ballot papers, it is not responsible for the speed of mail-delivery services in foreign countries.
  • The AEC strongly encourages all enrolled voters overseas to vote, but recognises that under some circumstances this is impossible. Accordingly, under the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918, voting is voluntary for electors overseas on election day, 18 May 2019.
See also  Celebrity couples Nick Teo & Hong Ling and Edwin Goh & Rachel Wan double dating in Australia

For questions or additional information, you may contact the Australian High Commission in Singapore through phone (+65 6836 4100),  fax  (+65 67375481), or send an email to